

EUROPEAN ACADEMY of Sciences and Arts

INTERDISCIPLINARY AND TRANSNATIONAL NETWORK

ORIGINS

Scientists, artists and business experts, who aim to promote innovative research, European scholarship and interdisciplinary collaboration



The European Academy of Sciences and Arts is an international, non-governmental, and non-profit organisation committed to promoting scientific and societal progress. Founded in Salzburg in 1990 by Felix Unger, Franz Kardinal König † and Nikolaus Lobkowicz †, our members are leading scientists, artists, and business experts, who are dedicated to innovative research. interdisciplinary collaboration as well as the exchange and dissemination of knowledge. Among our members are 32 Nobel laureates.



MISSION

The European Academy of Sciences and Arts shall:

- + Identify and analyse European challenges
- Provide advice to European institutions wherever the Academy has expertise
- + Develop a culture of collaboration and building bridges
- Promote transnational / interdisciplinary research and produce significant outputs
- Strengthen the role of scientific communities and European scholarship
- + Foster cooperation between research and industry
- Solve complex issues identified as priority for the wellbeing of all Europeans

The objectives shall be achieved by:

- + Conferences, symposia, panel discussions
- Publications
- Cooperations with universities, scientific institutions and any other organisations sharing similar objectives



ORGANISATION

The Senate is the executive management board of the Academy. It consists of the Presidium (President, Vice-Presidents, Chancellor, Treasurer and Secretary) and the Deans (Chairmen) of the eight classes of the Academy. The Senate is responsible for essential decisions such as the election of new and honorary members, the establishment of delegations, working groups and supporting bodies as well as the establishment of the budget proposal and the approval of the auditors' report.



MEMBERSHIP

The European Academy of Sciences and Arts has two membership categories: Ordinary and Honorary.

Membership is basically open to scholars who – in a scientific or cultural institution or as an individual person – enjoy exceptional standing in society as a result of work performed, publications or for comparable reasons, and who are willing to support the objectives of the Academy actively and effectively.

Each member can nominate a scientist or scholar irrespective of nationality, gender, location or discipline. The election process includes a threelevel evaluation system and an election of the Senate based on the recommendation of each level. Elected candidates are then invited to accept the honour of membership in the European Academy of Sciences and Arts.

All ordinary members are assigned to one of the following classes that are chaired by a Dean:





I. Humanities

II. Medicine





V. Social Sciences, Law and Economics VI. Technical and Environmental Sciences



III. Arts



IV. Natural Sciences



VII. World Religions



VIII. Corporate and Public Governance

ACTIVITIES

Scientific meetings

The Academy establishes experts groups, and organises international conferences and similar events to address current issues and European policy initiatives of scientific interest.

Annual Meeting

The Academy holds an annual "Festive Session" in Salzburg for all members. The festivities usually start with an interdisciplinary conference on some current topic(s). The following day, our newly elected members are officially admitted as member of the European Academy of Sciences and Arts.



Danube Academies Conference

The Danube Academies Conference is a forum for all national Academies of the Danube region and focuses on scientific developments in this area. It is a platform for the exchange between the national academies from Central and Eastern Europe. The idea goes back to 2010 when the EU launched the initiative "The EU Strategy for the Danube Region" with the aim of improving the coordination of relevant actors and programmes to promote the development of the Danube region.

Prize of Tolerance

Apart from scientific discourse, the European Academy is committed to intercultural dialogues as it considers the acceptance of different values and cultures as precondition for peaceful coexistence. The Academy has been awarding the Prize of Tolerance since 1997 to individuals or institutes committed to humanity and the dialogue between religions and countries. The Prize was awarded i.a. to Teddy Kollek, Hans-Dietrich Genscher † and the International Red Cross and Red Crescent.



European Academy of Sciences and Arts

St.-Peter-Bezirk 10 | 5020 Salzburg, Austria Phone: +43 662 84 13 45 | E-Mail: office@euro-acad.eu www.euro-acad.eu